Meet Samantha

Stiegler1.png

I have always been a healthy and active girl, growing up playing sports in an organically-fed family that stressed the importance of whole foods. Growing up in Los Angeles, I was raised to be considerably health-conscious with an overzealous and rather shallow emphasis on body image. My dad is a soul surfer and triathlete , my brother’s, one a college lacrosse athlete and the other a surf camp instructor, and my mother, a Pilates instructor.

At the end of my senior year of high school, I was suddenly diagnosed with Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome and Abdominal Migraines, a stress-induced illness which kept me up almost every night for one hour, sick as a dog, for a year. The only thing that helped ease the nausea was my lifelong frenemy, food. Fortunately, the illness wasn’t too severe and I was medically treated and alternatively inspired: my twisted relationship with food became my new passion.

β€œLet food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food” ~ Hippocrates

With that said, I decided to create this blog, initially because my friends were tired of being cornered and bombarded with nutrition lectures and I simply just wouldn’t shut up about it, but more importantly, I created this blog to document my detoxifying journey to ultimate physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health through my everyday collegiate adventures of culinary experiments, fitness explorations and acquired knowledge through nutritious research and education. I will also share my personal knowledge of random beauty tips and tidbits that I have learned and collected over the years from family, friends and many many health and fitness magazines. I believe that everyone has the potential to access their true inner beauty glow that can only be revealed through a healthy lifestyle, inevitably releasing us from the heavy grasps of the Standard American Diet. This holistic way of living will without a doubt pump you so full of energy, you will soon be craving kale smoothies and long hikes… seriously, just you wait!

{While my blog strongly focuses on a plant-based, vegan and gluten free diet, healthy alternatives will be featured for non-hippies}

Leave a Reply

