Forks Over Knives: “A Movie That Could Save Your Life”

I believe that one of the most dramatic and successful ways to change someones viewpoint on something is to show them the truth through a video. I’m not gonna lie, it’s discouragingly difficult to explain my reasons for adopting a plant based diet to someone in 5 minutes. I usually just say that I’ve read so many books and seen too many documentaries to know that it’s the healthiest & kindest way, or I just say “personal reasons” to avoid creating an unnecessary argument. I try so hard not to thrust my opinions onto people in a bible-banging way, but it’s so hard to hear time and time again, “I could never do that, it’s too hard”, or the most popular “I could never give up meat” and “I love cheese”… Well, so did I! I’d say a strong percentage of us enjoyed meat for a good part of their life, and truuust me, NO ONE hated cheese or Ben or Jerry. So instead of coming back with a long explanation as to why dairy isn’t for humans (which is more satisfying), I opt for a suggested documentary. I recently viewed these films in my free time, utterly absorbed and fascinated by the hard evidence and research and incredible people that are involved in the making….

First, Forks Over Knives by

Image

The film’s producers call it a movie that “examines the profound claim that most, if not all, of the degenerative diseases that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting our present menu of animal-based and processed foods.” Roger Ebert calls it “a movie that could save your life.” the power of diet and lifestyle to trump illness. When I first heard about this movie, I thought the title described a salad fork conquering a steak knife, but it turns out the imagery actually refers to diet (fork) and medicine (knife, or scalpel). Forks over knives. Food over medicine. Scientific accuracy recounted how they evaded death by ditching their pill-popping, fast-food-noshing, insulin-injecting lifestyles.Team Asparagus comprised of Dean Ornish, John McDougall, Neal Barnard, Caldwell Esselstyn, and Joel Fuhrman

In the film, evolutionary psychologist Dr. Doug Lisle, talks about an amazing concept called The Pleasure Trap—a motivational triad of “seeking pleasure, avoiding pain, and conserving energy” that all our years of evolution have hardwired us for. Because our modern, processed foods are so rich in calories and easy to access, they provide a high degree of dietary reward with almost no effort. Our bodies freakin’ love this. So much, in fact, that our brains say “eat eat eat!” in the presence of such foods and our natural hunger signals get overridden. That worked well in the wild, when periods of food abundance were interrupted with periods of famine. But these days, it just makes it easy to get fat. And the Pleasure Trap applies to much more than just food. Indeed, we’re biologically driven to seek the easy way out, to avoid pain, and to pursue things that make us feel good.

One thought on “Forks Over Knives: “A Movie That Could Save Your Life”

  1. Pingback: My Top 6 Health Books | the saladologist

Leave a Reply

