Trip to California

A couple weeks ago I flew back to my hometown in Malibu with my boyfriend. It was so much fun and the weather was amazing.  We went paddleboarding everyday, surfing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling… We had bonfire’s and BBQ’d almost every night, which is my absolute favorite thing. I love the smell of coals and gasoline on a warm summer night.

 My other favorite thing about going home is the endless smoothie cafes and Acai bowls that the south hasn’t caught onto yet. I took every chance I could to document all the healthy California meals I had. Remember, just because your on vacation doesn’t mean you cant have delicious AND healthy meals. I even had the chance to cook for my family and make everyone smoothies :)

IMG_3994

All the veggies we bbq’d! This night we cooked zucchini, asparagus, corn, pineapple, sweet potatoes and fresh swordfish.

IMG_3698

Ryan and I went on a hike one morning along the cliffs, it was so beautiful, I couldn’t resist trying a scorpion I haven’t done since highschool.

IMG_3910

One night we went to Calamigos Ranch to eat at M Cafe. It was maybe the coolest restaurant I’ve ever been to. It was a huge ranch with campfires with rainbow umbrellas overhead, chandeliers hanging from the trees over pool tables and shuffle boards with white lights hanging from the trees. I had the seared Ahi Tuna Salad with Avocado, sesame seeds, wild greens and papaya with a mustard apple vinaigrette.

IMG_3967

Ryan and My dad playing in the kayaks and me trying yoga on the paddleboards – not as easy as it seems.

945979_10201014089248898_1230289834_n

I had one of the most delicious Rainbow Kale Salads from Howdy’s with roasted red and orange beets, cherries, quinoa, shredded carrots, tomatoes, avocado, slivered almonds, romaine and Swiss chard.

1185142_10201023935215041_875701646_n

A simple Acai Bowl at Coogies with granola, banana and strawberries and some fresh squeezed orange juice

1150959_10201023932374970_1920109507_n

Leave a Reply

