Warm Coconut Kale Salad

First of all, I’m sorry for the lack of posts. I’m in the last finals of my college career and it’s so hard to find time to cook. My meals usually consist of apples. bananas, hard boiled eggs, quest bars and grocery store sushi… I can’t wait to get done with finals so I can start cooking and juicing for the summer!

I found a little time to post about my favorite brain food: Kale. This leafy green is a “must” during finals. It keeps me energized and full for long days in the library. Not only is it  off the charts with nutrients and vitamins but its so delicious and satisfying. Its also packed with antioxidants and cleanses your body of toxins (to flush out all this coffee I’m drinking), and is packed with fiber to keep you full without gaining weight! My favorite thing about kale is that its really chewy to satisfy my mouth and tummy since I don’t eat meat (I eat fish occasionally).

{One cup of Kale has ZERO calories, 36 calories and is high in vitamin C, vitamin K, beta carotene, magnesium and potassium}

Below is my absolute FAVORITE salad. I  like to heat this salad because it makes it a lot easier to chew and digest and satisfies me more since Kale can be intense alone. Make sure you don’t overcook it though because it can become soggy and lose nutrients. You can also choose to massage the kale with the coconut oil to soften the leaves.

Warm Coconut Kale Salad

10039_10202140233881810_2093569115_n

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups kale (ripped off bite size pieces)
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 avocado, chopped
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • Squeeze lemon juice
  • Himalayan salt
  • (optional hard boiled egg)

Directions

  1. Heat coconut oil on LOW in large pan
  2. Add Kale that is torn into small pieces  for about 5 minutes (you still want it crispy not soggy)
  3. Season with a little salt
  4. Squeeze a little lemon
  5. Remove from heat
  6. Add avocado and chia seeds

Leave a Reply

