Healthy Mediterranean Pizza

IMG_3457

Create healthy habits, not restrictions

Adopting a healthy lifestyle or trying to lose weight can be extremely frustrating, especially when the people around you are not on the same mission. When I used to “diet” in high school before school dances, I would practically shake with restraint watching my girlfriends guzzle down pizza and cookies after football games. I had such strict rules and restrictions, all I thought about were the foods that I couldn’t eat, and ended up binging like cray when I got my hands on them. I no longer allow myself to “diet” because I would concentrate on calories instead of health, and ended up gaining weight at the end of the day because I was setting myself up for failure. Now, I try to create as many healthy habits that I can, which overthrow all of my bad habits. It has helped me associate positivity with eating, which is extremely important for me because I used to be dependent on food emotionally. Since then, my mantra has been:

FOOD IS FUEL

So today I am sharing my healthy easy homemade pizza that I bake when I feel the urge for pizza. It may not be fabulously vegan or made of sprouted quinoa loaded with vegetables, but its extremely easy and hits the spot for me :) Delivery pizza like Dominos is loaded with chemically processed ingredients and has well over 800 calories, 530 of those calories are from fat with 59 grams of fat (36g saturated!). I use fresh organic ingredients, basil from my garden and whole wheat pizza dough from the market. Its such an easy and clean alternative that keeps your waistline slim and is a fun date-night activity for my boyfriend and I.

IMG_3443

Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 8.07.40 PM

IMG_3459

Ingredients:

  • Whole Wheat Pizza Dough (I get mine at the grocery store bakery)
  • Flour
  • Organic pizza tomato sauce
  • Buffalo Mozzarella
  • 1 organic tomato
  • Basil

Lay out pizza dough to rise for an hour before. Preheat oven to 425 degrees WITH the pizza stone in it, or else it can crack. Place big sheet of parchment on table and cover with a lot of flour. Cover hands and dough in flour (have fun with it!) and start kneading dough out into a circle, squeezing out air bubbles, and roll with rolling pin to fit the pizza stone. Remove pizza stone with gloves and set on stand. Transfer dough to stone by sliding off of parchment (easiest with lots of flour). Spread pizza sauce over dough, leaving a 1/2 inch around the edge. I like to add a little bit of hot sauce to add a little pow. Slice mozzarella into thin circles and place around pizza on top of sauce. Place pizza and stone in oven on bottom rack. Bake for 7 minutes and then add thinly sliced tomatoes, basil leaves and if you’d like, a little pink himalayan salt. Place back in oven for 5 more minutes until edges are light brown. Remove and let cool for a little, then slice with pizza wheel. I like to slice them in squares because eating more pieces fills your up faster!

*Putting tomatoes in freezer for a little makes it so much easier to slice thin without it getting watery

IMG_7012

 *The key to this pizza is that I use a pizza stone, which is really inexpensive and makes the crust deliciously crispy and flavorful. I also bake my cookies on it! You can find pizza stones at target and some grocery stores, or find it online here for $16.99 at target.com

Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 8.03.44 PM

 

Leave a Reply

